Cataloging Work Group

01:15 OCLC and CZ New York Times records appear the same, but do not quite match--how to address the CZ record not getting updated like the OCLC record? Do we know whether or not the CZ records are getting updated? Is there a better approach with an NZ record that would get updates automatically from the OCLC record? Should we unlink the record in our IZ (which would require manual updating in future)?
27:30 How do you catalog books that are part of a volume set?
42:00 Tech items - taking out a description field for tech records in order to assist with requesting in Alma, was there a job or was it done manually?
57:00 Cameron's last Office Hour - Congrats Cameron!

00:30 question to Pawel re: how to catch OCLC records that have their 050 field updated?
05:40 looking for NZ reports in the shared analytics folders
11:05 DVD appearing as VHS, now displaying as Other
31:20 Classification Web available for all colleges
35:15 050/090 fields and automation--taking 090 over 050
45:45 eBook collection from EBSCO discoverable in Primo?
55:10 Cataloging Work Group Form

01:45 Which notes field is visible in Primo?
14:10 Discussion on added thesauruses and Authority Records.
17:55 For electronic resources where we own the content, do those go in the NZ?
24:10 Discussion on cataloging eBooks.
34:10 When we are creating brief records, we are limited on material types. We deal with a lot of equipment--how does this affect the brief record? Is there a way to add to those options for material type?
41:20 Discussion on cataloging multiple volumes/items.
44:50 Course reserve discussion.
50:25 Comments from chat.
55:10 Do you create one course and one reading list and add instructors? This is causing Primo to display too many books for an instructor, what do other colleges do?

00:20 I'm thinking of implementing cataloger permission levels for my institution. How do those permission levels work for Network Zone records?
24:00 I loaded a lot of e-book titles into an electronic collection via the portfolio loader, but some titles didn't get loaded and an error message pops up which says "Missing MMS". How do I fix this issue?
57:14 How do I add a link to a portfolio that does not require authentication to access the electronic resource?

01:25 I only have Volume 1 of a book, but the NZ bib shows Volumes 1 and 2. What caused this error and how do I correct it?
37:19 When hosted EZProxy is provided to all the colleges in the LSP consortium, will my EZProxy URLs change and if so, how do I fix them?
43:30 How do I perform original cataloging for a book that's local to my area and not in OCLC?
51:30 Continued discussion about hosted EZProxy URL change from the 37:19 mark.

00:43 How do you delete withdrawn items from your holdings in the Network Zone?
12:22 Can you get Analytics data from local extension 590? How can you add provenance information to an item record?
27:07 Can I run a job to add a local extension 590 to a set of bib records?
34:55 Is there a job that I can run to put local extensions back in records where they were previously removed?
46:48 Is it okay to change the holding location from within the item record or should it only be done in the holding record, in field 852 $$c?

00:30 How can I export OCLC records from Connexion client into the Network Zone?
13:00 Can you please demonstrate how you catalog a book from start to finish?
34:54 How can I easily edit field 852 in the Holding record?
39:00 If I have an ebook and print book for the same title, how can I get them to show up together in a single record in Primo VE? [Links: What is the Dedup and FRBR process (Primo VE) (ExLibris) | Dedup and FRBR analysis tool (Primo VE) (ExLibris)]
46:38 Can I attach my single ebook holding to a shared-collection record in the NZ or should I only use a non-shared-collection record?

01:15 What happens when you hit Save on an OCLC record in Connexion client? Does it override the record in WorldCat? At one point does the record in the NZ get overlaid?
03:30 Is it best practice to share an IZ record with the Network Zone even if there are local fields?
04:00 What does an integration profile look like to export WorldCat records to the NZ?
14:26 Why are there so many different records for an item in WorldCat?
16:26 When you derive a record in Connexion client, how do you save it to WorldCat?
17:26 In Alma, how do we get a 050 call number from the MARC record into our holding record?
27:32 Why do we have to make changes to a master record in Connexion before we export it?
31:10 When you catalog individually purchased ebooks, where do you get your records? Do you keep the records in the IZ, the NZ, or do you use CZ records?
41:18 How do you derive a print or ebook record In Connexion browser?
50:30 How often does the cataloging work group have open office hours?

01:55 When I import a bib record in Alma from WorldCat, how do I add my library’s holding and item? What is the shortcut for adding a call number to the holding record?
08:55 When I catalog a physical item, the only options for resource type are “book” or “article”. How can I change this for physical items that are not books–such as laptops? In Analytics, they show up as books, which is inaccurate.
16:55 How do I make local changes to an NZ record so that local notes won’t be overlaid with an update to the master record?
21:15 Is there a quick way to check my WorldCat holdings?
26:50 When I withdraw an item and suppress its record, is there a way to select “Don’t publish” to WorldCat through a job?
45:25 If you love your label printing system, can you please share about it?
51:50 There are French language subject headings in many WorldCat records. Is it possible to have only English language subject headings show up in PrimoVE discovery?
1:02:33 Where is the Feb. 15, 2023, LSP Cataloging Work Group Wednesday Webinar recording?

1:37 If the NZ doesn’t have a print book record I need but there is an ebook record for the same title, may I change the ebook record in Alma to make it into a print book record?
4:17 How do I derive a record in OCLC Connexion client to create a new bib record?
13:33 How can I export bib records from OCLC Connexion browser?
19:42 What is the OCLC integration profile configuration in Alma?
27:50 In the Metadata Editor, how can I import OCLC records to properly overlay a brief record in my IZ?

1:00 When I catalog a new book am I allowed to make edits on the bib records in Alma?
7:00 Why do I have numerous extraneous “full text availability” links in the Primo VE records for our eTextbooks? How can I delete/manage those? What are the Dara recommendations and do I need to follow them?
24:00 I have several records for a particular title (reserve books plus main collection books), but not all of them display when searching the title or ISBN in Primo VE. How do I resolve this display issue?

3:15 I have an issue with import profiles for Ebooks. After downloading MARC records from Gale and bringing them in, we aren't able to access them in Primo. Where it says Service Activation Status, it says Not Available in the import profile, even though we selected Active when we made the profile. How can I fix this so that it shows as Available?
10:00 I have 856 $$u in my import profile, but sometimes it doesn’t grab the 856 field and I have to put it in manually by copy/pasting from the MARC record. How can I fix this?
12:20 When you import a record and the MARC fields are not in order in the MD Editor, is there a job that puts them in order?
32:28 Has anyone started using Baker & Taylor to buy books for their library?
36:28 From Gale we can export MARC files but we can't import them into Alma. We have to change them to XML. Why can’t Alma accept MARC files?
41:10 Do you put licensing information on your import profile?
44:30 In the leader for material type, there is a limited list of codes you can use to describe materials. What do people tend to use to describe equipment?
46:47 How do you handle cataloging Kindles with Ebooks?

0:24 I added a new Ebook to our collection but it doesn’t show up when I search for it in Primo VE. How can I fix this?
14:30 What are parser parameters in Ebook cataloging?
21:30 What do I do with miscataloged Ebooks (wrong authority heading used for the author’s name) in the Ebsco academic Ebook subscription?
34:10 Sometimes I get warnings that a record is importing into the NZ with errors and I am not sure what to do about that. For example, in the 550 field, when the OCLC symbol has a $ sign in it, it messes up the spacing. How do I handle that?
37:08 Can someone demonstrate how to overlay a brief acquisition bib record?
49:40 Do you know how to do a search in the 999 field (I am looking for a code that was in there when we migrated from our old system to Alma)?
53:05 How can I delete bib records in batch?
55:23 In the reclamation project, the last step is to set your OCLC publishing, which I did. I set it up so that I receive an automatic notification from Alma with a summary of daily publishing jobs. I always see a number under Updated records even on days that I haven’t done any updates. Why is this?

6:50 How do I batch delete bibs without inventory?
10:50 I unlinked a record from the CZ but I cannot delete the record. What should I do? How can I run this as a job?
19:30 When the NZ manager cleans up OCLC duplicates in the NZ, will they be gone also from the IZ?
26:53 How can I add a local Dewey call number to a record so that my staff can add items?
30:29 We have a print book that has user access online. It is not part of a collection. How can I embed the username and password in the link in the portfolio so that the user can access the book without asking for the login?
35:05 Do I have to unlink my holdings from the NZ before I delete books I am discarding?
38:17 How can I batch add information for analytics purposes to bib records for 500 laptops?
42:37 Do you catalog print journal issues separately?
43:52 How do I run a job to batch create a bunch of holdings and item records from a CSV or MARC record?

6:32 We have reserve books that were purchased with grant money that are not faculty members’ personal copies nor are they part of the library collection. Should the records for these go in the NZ?
19:40 When I create a temporary location for an item, why does it show two items in the catalog?
22:19 I keep getting an error message that the 019 field is not in the template. How can I correct that?
39:13 We migrated from WMS and many of our multi-volume or multi-part sets have multiple 866 fields in the holdings record that have duplicate information from 876 fields, so in Alma, the Item Availability shows a list of holdings rather than how many items are available. There are several thousands of these. Is there a way to fix this in batch or with a job or norm rule?
53:10 Are all of the tools now available in the new MD Editor?
54:54 For loaning out laptops/Chromebooks, do you make one master brief record that encompasses all types of laptops/Chromebooks and then add items to it no matter what type of computer it is? Or do you use different records for each type of machine?

0:42 With quick cataloging, can you change the format to reflect what the material is (other than book or article)?
4:07 What levels of suppression should I use so that a journal we don't subscribe to anymore does not show up in Primo, if I still want to keep track of it for future analytics?
11:05 When ordering a new book, in which zone should the brief bib record live?
19:35 How do I handle 790 as a local added entry field since Alma doesn't like 790 being used for local fields?
24:50 Do you link your Reserve book records to the NZ, or just keep them in the IZ?
33:50 How do I correct the format for a print book record that shows up as microform in Primo?
38:45 How do I know if I set up the OCLC publishing job correctly?
56:15 Do you know if the Gale MARC records we get all have OCLC numbers in them?

4:10 I have purchased 1,000 titles from Ebsco ebooks. What is the workflow for loading them into Alma?
9:23 In the post-reclamation project, what do I do if I didn’t download Worldshare files?
12:35 Do I need to change the management tags to publish to OCLC?
21:32 In the post-reclamation project, I have 100 records not linked to the NZ. Should I link them to the NZ?
24:44 How are authorities and headings updated in the NZ (preferred term correction job)?
29:38 We have a large quantity of records not linked to the NZ and they potentially have out-of-date headings. Can we run the preferred term correction job just in our IZ?
41:43 If I add a local field to a bib record linked to the NZ, where do those local fields get saved?
52:40 How do you use the Print Bib records feature in the Cloud App Center?

11:46 Any recommendations on how to work with a large number of records for our reclamation cleanup?
13:58 How do we unlink a group of bad media records from the NZ?
17:53 Where is the link to the November 4, 2020, Wednesday Webinar presentation that has instructions on running a job to unlink a set of records from the NZ?
19:25 Who is handling NZ records with no individual copies left?
21:00 Does anyone have recommendations for working with our reclamation cleanup?
24:20 Stephanie Roach talks about how to implement display changes in Primo VE for changing racist subject headings locally.
46:40 Who is creating the NZ records?
48:53 What if no LC subject headings are displayed in the facet area?
50:01 Is there a way we can have our local subject fields linked to an OCLC record that resides in the NZ?
54:49 When I add 650 subject headings to a bib record in OCLC, do I need to re-export the record to the NZ?
56:50 How do I correct a bib record that shows no holdings, but it does have holdings?
1:02:48 Are we free to use those normalization rules that Stephanie was showing earlier?
1:08:35 If I create records in OCLC for Infobase's Films on Demand, do I put publisher and distributor in the 264 field?

4:35 How do I create a local electronic collection in Alma?
9:26 How do I add a local portfolio/individual title in Alma?
16:45 How does one separate owned and not owned EBSCO collections?
19:48 Second demonstration of adding a single ebook portfolio.
24:35 What do I do if I don't like the electronic bib record in the NZ?
26:16 How do I add an existing standalone portfolio to a collection?
30:39 How do I run a job to add a bunch of standalone portfolios to the collection?
32:15 How do I add streaming media like Swank or Kanopy to Alma?
49:08 What are portfolios and what should be in them?
54:05 What is an import repository profile?
57:19 Does that profile run automatically for each purchase, or is it a batch process?
1:04:35 Is there any negative impact for using an NZ record as compared to using a CZ record for ebooks?
1:07:10 With individual Gale ebook titles, is the recommendation to create a local electronic collection and move those individual titles into the collection?